Natura 2000 Award & Members

Natura 2000 Award – Criteria: Why applying?

The Natura 2000 Award was launched by the European Commission in 2013, with the first prizes awarded on Natura 2000 Day in 2014. The annual Award aims to raise awareness about the Natura 2000 network, showcase excellence and encourage networking between people working on Natura 2000 sites. It awards prizes to organisations or person involved in Natura 2000, including public and local authorities, businesses, NGOs, land owners, educational institutions and individuals working to manage, or to raise awareness about Natura 2000. Prizes are divided into five award categories:

  • A. Conservation
  • B. Socio-Economic Benefits
  • C. Communication
  • D. Reconciling Interests and Perceptions
  • E. Cross-Border Cooperation and Networking

Given the key role of member Protected Areas in the management of Natura 2000 network, we encourage all EUROPARC members to have their work acknowledged by applying for the Natura 2000 Award! You will find all the details here.

The finalists for the 2018 European Natura 2000 Award are out!

Vote now for your favourite!

The European Commission’s Natura 2000 Award recognises the time, dedication and efforts Europeans invested in nature protection within the Natura 2000 network of protected areas. The Award aims to raise awareness about Natura 2000 and the role it plays for safeguarding our natural heritage and in promoting social and economic wellbeing.

Twenty-five finalists have been selected out of seventy-five eligible applications from across the EU. The selected finalists are from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Luxemburg, Poland, Portugal, Spain and United Kingdom. They include several cross-border projects, involving also Turkey, and an EU-wide project.

N2000 Awards Ceremony

The winners will be announced at a ceremony hosted by Commissioner Vella in Brussels on Thursday 17 May 2018. The event is open to the press and the public. Please register online if you wish to attend.

The ceremony can also be watched online on the Natura 2000 website.
Media contact: [email protected]

Follow the latest updates on the selection process on the Award website.