Charter Award Ceremony 2019 – Registrations are open!

Published on:

The Charter Award Ceremony 2019

We are proud to invite you to the Charter Award Ceremony 2019, our annual high-level event host in Brussels, to recognise the work of Protected Areas towards achieving sustainability in tourism. This year we will celebrate the successful applications of 16 EUROPARC Sustainable Destinations, some of them awarded for the first time while others, that have implemented the methodology before, will be awarded for the renewal of their commitment.

The event will take place on December 2nd, from 14:00 to 18:00, in the European Committee of the Regions, kindly hosted by Roby Biwer, Vice-Chair of the ENVE Commission of the Committee of the Regions.

The Charter methodology enables Protected Areas to become an active player in the development of sustainable tourism in their region. With a high involvement of the local authorities, businesses and community, the methodology involves the creation of a common Sustainable Tourism Strategy and an Action plan for a period of 5 years.

During the ceremony, we will hear first-hand insights from the Sustainable Destinations that will be awarded and look at the importance of establishing private-public partnerships towards a sustainable development of Europe’s rural territories.

Download the Programme

The ceremony will be streamed at

Celebrating success with Protected Areas and their Business Partners!

A remarkable new aspect of the Charter Award Ceremony this year, is the official announcement of the winners of EUROPARC Star Awards, a prize to champion and acknowledge the effort and investments made by tourism businesses working with our Sustainable Destinations across Europe.

The implementation of the Charter is an opportunity to work side-by-side with local business partners and ensure that tourism can bring social and economic benefits to the local community, but also to inspire and support managers in pursuing a more sustainable approach in their business models.

The Star Awards will be awarded to the businesses that have been active in the protection of their natural and cultural heritage, who are innovative and working to reduce environmental impacts, and to those inspiring a sustainable behavior with their clients.


Please note that if you are attending the Charter Award Ceremony, registration is needed to access the Committee of the Regions. Please register below:

Register here

Get to know the Parks that will be awarded!

EUROPARC network counts with 106 Sustainable Destinations (soon 110!) from 16 countries. They are spread all over Europe but united by a shared vision: to make sustainable tourism a meaningful quality experience which safeguards natural and cultural values, supports local livelihoods and quality of life and is economically viable.

The 4 New Sustainable Destinations


  • IT – Maremma Regional Park
  • IT – Stelvio National Park


  • EE – Lahemaa National Park


  • ES – Capcaleres del Ter i del Freeser Nature Park

The 12 Sustainable Destinations that will renew their commitment


  • FR – Loire Anjou Touraine Nature Regional Park


  • IT – Sibillini National Park
  • IT – Torre Cerrano Marine Protected Area
  • IT-  Alta Murgia National Park
  • IT – Pollino National Park
  • IT – Colline Metallifere National Park
  • IT – Appennino Tosco Emiliano National Park


  • ES – Sierra Nevada National Park
  • ES – Donana National Park


  • PT – Montanhas Mágicas/Magic Mountains


  • LT – Zemaitija National Park


  • FI – Pallas-Yllästunturi National Park

Take a look on the previous Charter Award Ceremonies 2017 and 2018.

The European Charter for Sustainable Tourism in Protected Areas is a methodology created by the EUROPARC Federation, with the aim of supporting protected areas to become Sustainable Destinations through an active involvement of their local stakeholders.

Get a deeper insight on the European Charter for Sustainable Tourism in Protected Areas